Ashley P

Home building 101, er, 404?

175 posts in this topic

So I'm "planning" to add on to our house.  I want to put a basement under the addition.  One difficulty is placing a basement wall near my existing foundation/footer.   Pouring a concrete wall into forms requires space on the "back" of the form to remove it after pour, that would push the basement wall well away from the existing house.  One way around that is to use a ICF like BuildBlock for at least the one wall that borders the current foundation.  That way the wall could be built almost directly against the dirt, I would even waterproof them as I lay them.  Consequently I'm studying what the cost of BuildBlock would be for A) that wall only, B) whole basement, C) both basement and ground level walls.

Benefits of BB vs wood frame:  they include insulation and mounting for "wall covering" (sheet rock), so you don't lose 3.5" of interior space and don't have to frame or insulate the exterior wall, and it's air tight. That helps to offset the high initial cost (yet to be determined).

However, while the concrete is advertised as having a beneficially high "thermal mass", I think it's a liability (when used above ground) since concrete conducts heat so well compared to insulating materials.  That triggered another brain spasm resulting in....heating/cooling the concrete?

Since my water coupled heat pump simply dumps 6 or so gallons H2O per minute out in the creek the whole time the unit runs, I've got a "free" source for water that COULD be used to again  heat or cool the house...what if I put Pex tubing into the ICF before poring the concrete?  (Above ground walls only, BTW.)  Downside would be initial cost, possible leakage into concrete which would leak out eventually, weakening the wall to some extent, and worst case water freezing in the wall (highly unlikely and very preventable).

Thoughts?

http://buildblock.com/

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/thermal-conductivity-d_429.html