slim_9916

Smokers

96 posts in this topic

Where my smokers at? This will be started early Friday morning. I'm brand new to this but I'm hooked. Got myself a master built electric smoker for Xmas. This will be brisket #2.

JohnC likes this

I also got my first smoker for Christmas. I smoked a small brisket and pork loin last night. My taste testest said it was amazing. I think I can do better. I need a better thermometer to measure smoker temps. Going to Academy Sports today to get one. Smoking another brisket tonight!

Edited by Disney
Kpate, JohnC and slim_9916 like this

I used to have a smoker, but the food kept getting better and I kept getting fatter.  I had a webber smokey mountain.  I tried lots of weird rubs, mops and sauces and none of them were all that good.

I tried smoking those small brisket pieces at the store and they were never that good.  I think they are just the cap.  I think you have to do the big monster 15lb. piece to get that true flavor.  That's too much food and too much work, so I just go to the bbq joint now for brisket.

Chicken and Turkey take on way too much smoke flavor for my liking.

The last time I did ribs, I just cooked them on my gas grill low and slow with only salt and pepper and they were the best I've made.

If anyone is looking for a good butcher shop or just good bbq, go to Schaffer farms custom meats in Summertown on US43.  They have the best brisket I've eaten outside of TX.

JohnC likes this

I also got my first smoker for Christmas. I smoked a small brisket and pork loin last night. My taste testest said it was amazing. I think I can do better. I need a better thermometer to measure smoker temps. Going to Academy Sports today to get one. Smoking another brisket tonight!

I've had positive feedback as well. I've done wings and this will be the second brisket. This one is 10.5lb and the last was 8.9. I definitely need a better thermometer as well but the built in meat probe has done ok so far.